Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian Support for Teachers
- Create screencast tutorials on how to use resources
- Help finding and learning how to use the right resources and tech tools that meet your needs
- Website & resource curation
- Collaboration - in lesson planning & teaching
- Support your Google Classroom to help with research, literacy support, and technology learning
- Design a resources page for your department, class, or project
- Reader’s advisory - I can match students to appropriate choice reading books
- Tech support - resetting students’ Google passwords, help with Google Suite of apps, student/parent tech support
GHS Library Website pages to bookmark
- Teachers – quick links to resources on this page:
- Additional Resources for Teachers
- Research – databases, encyclopedia (also in Spanish), newspapers, citations, etc.
- eBooks – Sora App, Salem Press reference books, free ebooks online, etc.
Library Recommended Resources
Reading & Writing Resources
Sora eBook & eAudiobook Platform/App - choice or assigned reading
- Tutorial - how to log in and find ebooks & eaudiobooks
- Use GPS Google login to access
- Download the Sora App on phone or tablet, or use website version on computers
- Includes Always Available titles so there’s always something to borrow
- Some books are available in foreign languages
- Digital Class Sets – I can submit a requisition for you if you want to assign students in a class a particular book
Databases on the Library Website - most automatically log in, but I can provide usernames and passwords when needed
- Includes reference book articles, newspapers (including Recorder, NYT, Republican, Boston Globe), magazines, audio, maps, images, primary sources, video, and more
- Content for all subjects
- New databases - Career Transitions, ProQuest Science, Heritage Quest, and the return of Opposing Viewpoints
- Could be used for research and as a source for quality nonfiction reading material
Salem Press Database – ebook version of reference book sets.
No password required!
- Salem Health - Addictions, Substances & Alcoholism
- Defining Documents in American History - The Cold War, Dissent & Protest, Immigration & Immigrant Communities, Exploration & Colonial America, World War II
- Defining Documents in World History - Women’s Rights, Renaissance & Early Modern Era
- Milestone Documents - African American History, American History, World History
- Countries & Cultures
- Great Events from History - 21st Century
- Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations
- Critical Surveys of Graphic Novels - Manga
NewsELA - nonfiction reading content, for many subjects
- Can be adapted for different reading levels to differentiate and meet IEP/EL requirements
- Login - use your school Google login
Commonlit.org - web resource with articles, short stories, and poems at a variety of levels
- Differentiation options
- Login to use their assessments and track student progress.
- No login required to download materials for use.
- Accessibility features include language translation, read aloud (English only), and the ability to change font size.
- Signed in students can highlight and make annotations directly in the page.
- Mini Units
- Guide to Accessibility
Teaching Books - a resource aggregator pulling lessons, videos, activities, interviews, entire book read alouds, and more all into the same place. There is an educator login, and a student site you can link to.
Teen Ink - a site where you can have students submit articles, poetry, photography, art, books, novels, videos
Webcomics (List of Recommendations from School Library Journal) - scroll down for YA
New York Times Daily Writing Prompts
Academy of American Poets
Discovery Education - district subscription to streaming educational video on a broad array of topics
- Select the Passcode/New User tab to enter the school passcode (See librarian for passcode)
- Click Login to create a user account and password
- Set up classrooms to create student accounts so they can access videos remotely
Digital Theater - 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources (trial until 5/6)
- See librarian for password.
InfoBase Classroom Video
PBS Learning Media
Virtual Field Trips
Discovery Education Field Trips
No permission slips required. These virtual events let educators take students to amazing places and give them remarkable experiences, without ever leaving the classroom (or home). There are field trips for many different subject areas.
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History
Offers virtual tours of their current, past, and permanent exhibits.
Monterey Bay Aquarium
In addition to many live camera feeds of jellyfish, coral reef, kelp forest, and more, they offer narrated feedings of the sea otters and open sea daily.
National Gallery of Art
Has two easy to use and informational online exhibits on “Fashioning a Nation” and “Vermeer and the Masters of Genre Painting.”
An interactive timeline provides a guided exploration of history.
The Getty Museum
The collection includes European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and European, Asian, and American photographs.
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Boston Public Library eCard & eResources
If you are a Massachusetts resident and don't already have a Boston Public Library card, you can register for one online.
- Click here to get a BPL eCard.
- A BPL eCard will be emailed to the account provided.
- The card can be used to connect with electronic resources, including:
eBooks & Audiobooks